Insomnia Friday – Thoroughly Random Thoughts

Insomnia’s been intermittently kicking my ass for the better part of the last 20 years. I cannot recall a stretch that has been as bad as the last few months.

…in other news, Netflix on Demand has been a friendly and faithful companion lately.

…in still other news, the movie TAPS somehow has endured the years quite well.

_______

My Week in Bars…

To the lovely barmaid with the pixie cut who kept me in good beer at Fat Heads in Pittsburgh, you’re the kind of restaurant professional who makes me wish that I still ran a restaurant just so I could hire you.

To the blowhards sitting next to me at The Uptown in Chicago, I appreciate the very strong feelings you so loudly expressed about illegal immigration. By the by, I wonder who picked the avocados for that five dollar guacamole you were eating?

_______

So here’s a question for you all…

Recently I found myself in the company of a woman whose professional acquaintance I had just formally made after several email exchanges. After the business portion of the evening, she invited me to join her and several others for cocktails. The preponderance of the others were men, and it was evident that most of them had a more substantive social relationship with her than I, and I also suspect that most of them were quietly interested in her. At a certain point in the evening, this woman began to be less than delicate in concealing her knickers given the length of her skirt. I presume that the booze was the primary factor.

How does one discreetly tell a woman that she is being less than discreet?

How does one discreetly tell a woman he does not know well that it might be time for her to go home… especially given that she is surrounded by closet suitors who have known her longer?

_______

Get well soon, Tracee Hamilton. You are my favorite WaPo sports columnist these days, and I will miss your voice.

_______

The One Question Meme: if you could create a version of Netflix that would enable you to have short term rentals of something on a revolving basis, what would it be?

_______

Something you should know about drinks…

If you’ve ever had a Bellini, chances are you’ve not had a good one. The Bellini is perhaps the simplest of all classic cocktails with only two ingredients, prosecco and white peach puree. It is also one of the most commonly mishandled where people substitute fresh peach puree with something from a can or even worse – fucking wretched Peach Schnapps. Invented by Giuseppi Cipriani in 1948 at Harry’s Bar in Venice, Italy, the Bellini, when made with fresh and honest ingredients and poured into a proper champagne flute, immediately evokes elegance and sophistication.

  • 3 white peaches peeled and diced
  • 1 bottle of champagne
  • In a blender, puree the peaches. (If you’re like me and sensitive to pulp then run the peach puree through cheese cloth after blending.) Pour 1 ounce of pureed peach into a flute and top with 4 ounces of champagne.

I have also made variations on the Bellini with pears, green apples, and mangoes. The most import thing is to get good and in-season fruit.

______

This post is tacit acknowledgement that there is a small chance that I am going to participate in NaBloPoMo for July… I gotta do something to get myself above my non-writing / non-blogging rut.

6 Responses to Insomnia Friday – Thoroughly Random Thoughts

  1. You’re such a well-spoken man, I’m certain you found just the right words to let your lady friend know that it is time to go home. Offering to get a cab for her is a class act as well.

    Good Luck with NaBloPoMo!

  2. magnolia2010 says:

    ooh. you totally just gave me my birthday drink. i am drinking REAL bellinis tonight. thanks!

    so glad to hear that. I promise it will be worth it.

  3. Christina says:

    You were at the Uptown! Gosh you were near my neck of the woods!

    The Bellini sounds divine we have mangoes….you have given me an idea!

    Next time I shall send an email and hopefully you and your hubby can join me for a spell. Oh, and regarding the mango Bellini, use just less than an ounce of nectar to 4 ounces of prosecco as mango nectar is extremely thick.

  4. kate.d. says:

    as for your two-part question, i’d say the answers are “you don’t” and “you don’t.” unless she seemed in some sort of imminent danger, well, a grown woman can comport herself as she pleases (tactless and cringe-inducing as it may be!) and your best bet is usually to just let it lie.

    as for the netflix query, what a fun thing to contemplate. i’m leaning towards dresses. perhaps even just DvF wrap dresses. i’m far to cheap to own any, but i would love to have a revolving collection at my fingertips!

    lastly, i always conflate the uptown lounge and the holiday club in my mind. i don’t really know why – old-timey logos/names and proximity to uptown El stations, perhaps!

    In fact, I did let both points lie. At the same time, there was this protective part of my personality that wanted to help her save face among clients. Though I must also admit that I never sensed a threat to anything besides her dignity.

    I have heard rumor that such thing exists for purses, I wonder if that business model would work for dresses too.

    I’ve never been to the Holiday Club, but it is now on my radar and look forward to trying it.

  5. Lemon Gloria says:

    I remember Taps being pretty devastating. I’m recently unable to fall asleep at night and it is killing me – especially as I need a lot of sleep and there’s no chance of sleeping in once morning arrives.

    I was thinking the same thing as kate.d. and she voiced it perfectly with the “you don’t” x 2. Also, if they know her, they know her. You know?

Leave a comment